The Baker’s Chain Letter

The other day a friend gave me a zip lock bag with the starter mixture for Amish Friendship Bread. Now, I have to admit, I’ve received these bags of slime before and I’ve never used them. I did, in fact, throw them away.

GASP!

I know! Isort of take the friend out of the friendship bread starter mix chain letter. And I’llĀ  probably have 1,000 years of bad luck or get hit by a train on my way home, even though I don’t cross any train tracks on my commute home. I just have a feeling that’s the intense kind of bad luck that probably befalls someone who hasn’t completed her friendship bread duties.

Well, I promise this time things will be different. I’ve decided that I’m actually going to see thing friendship bread thing through to its completion. I have kneaded the mixture in the bag, like the directions say, and I have added the required sugar, flour and milk. I promise to watch it and lovingly care for it as it sits and does whatever it is this stuff is supposed to do.

One reason I’ve always thrown it away is because the thought of milk hanging out in a zip lock bag on my counter for a few days kind of grosses me out. Just sayin’.

But I will give it a try this time. I will follow the instructions to a T and I will even pass along the starter mixture to other friends as directed. And I will encourage them to keep the Friendship Bread tradition alive, because I certainly wouldn’t want anyone to have bad luck involving trains as a result of breaking the baker’s chain letter.

2 Comments

Filed under All About Me, Something's Cookin'

2 responses to “The Baker’s Chain Letter

  1. This made me laugh so hard, I started coughing. I’m the awful friend that never follows through with those “tokens of friendship” that I’ve been so lucky to receive. Honestly, milk in a ziploc bag on a counter grosses me out too, so don’t feel too bad.

    I hope your starter mix doesn’t go bad on ya and you make many a loaf of amish bread.

    • Thanks for stopping by and visiting, Elda! I wish I could say that I followed through with the friendship bread, but sadly, I was too grossed out in the end so I threw the bag of goo away. Maybe some day. ;-)

Leave a Reply

