25 Years and Counting

I will be celebrating, along with my fellow classmates, our 25th high school reunion this year. I’m still struggling to comprehend that it has been 25 years since I graduated from high school. Sometimes it seems like only yesterday that I was sitting in a stuffy classroom staring out the window waiting for the bell to ring so I could make plans with my friends for the upcoming weekend. (And yes, I know that was a run on sentence, but I’m not writing for my high school teachers anymore!)Then there are other times that I actually have trouble remembering the names and faces of the people I went to school with.High school was fun for me but it certainly was not the “Best Years of My life” as it is often referred to by people. There have been many other defining moments in my life that far overshadow those teenage years: my wedding day, the births of my three boys, the day I gave my life to Christ. Don’t get me wrong, I had some pretty good times in high school: NHS Conventions, Friday night football games, midnight movies, my first kiss. But to say those were the best years is certainly overstating the facts.

High school is hard. You want to make good grades, you try to be popular, you struggle to make decisions about what you want to be when you “grow up”. It’s a lot of pressure for a teenager. I’m glad those years are behind me and I’m enjoying being a 40-something woman who has a pretty good idea about who she is and what she wants out of life. I have a terrific husband, wonderful children, a close-knit family that lives close by, a great church and I have been blessed by some friends who are second to none. Who could really ask for more?

I guess I’ll just ask for 25 more years of the same!

5 Comments

Filed under All About Me

5 responses to “25 Years and Counting

  1. Melinda

    You haven’t changed much! My lasting friendships are what I cherish the most about high school and that has continued in my life–I am truly blessed. MB

  2. Anonymous

    very good

    -G

  3. Jackie

    Thank you, G!
    Love you,
    Mom

  4. amber

    hs was awful. i agree that there are so many other things in life that are so much better!

  5. Anonymous

    You do love us….you really do! Too funny. Are ya’ll having a reunion?
    Your “close-knit” Sis

Leave a Reply

