My Funny Valentine

As I was elbow to elbow with other Wal*Mart shoppers, on the day before Valentine’s, I began to wonder, “Why am I here buying these silly cards and candy anyway?” One reason was so my kids would not become outcasts among their peers. You can’t expect a 1st grader to go far in life if he stiffs his friends on Valentine’s Day.Anyway, I decided to do a little research and find out just who was behind all this madness. It seems as if we can trace this back to Roman Emperor, Claudius II, and a Catholic priest named Valentine. Claudius believed that single guys would make better soldiers in his army, so the Roman ruler cancelled all engagements and would not allow any marriages to be performed.

It seems this priest, Valentine, felt badly for all the love struck couples and started performing marriages in secret and against the will of the Emperor. The Emperor found out and Valentine was arrested. He was later beaten and beheaded. Very romantic!

Oh, so that’s why I was torturing myself by shopping on the day before Valentine’s Day; that and the fact that I had waited until the last possible moment to shop for this year’s supplies. Well, as long as there is a good reason for folks to stress out over the purchase of a box of chocolate and a pink teddy bear. I’m still not a big fan of the holiday but I guess I can force myself to play along; especially when chocolate is involved!

2 Comments

Filed under Random Ramblings

2 responses to “My Funny Valentine

  1. amber

    the chocolate, jackie. forget about st. valentine. it’s about the chocolate.

  2. Jackie

    You’re right, Ammber! I just wish I had figured that out sooner.

Leave a Reply

