Oh, My Aching Back!


Well here I sit with a sharp, stabbing pain in my back. I went to the doctor yesterday and she said I have herniated disc. “A herniated what?” Yes, I now officially have a “bad back”. I had always heard people talk about their “bad backs” and I would smugly think, “yeah, just a good excuse for getting out of doing something they didn’t want to do.” Well, I officially apologize for all those times that I had that thought. And I apologize to all those people that I thought were just being slackers! Because now I know how much it hurts. And boy does it hurt. It’s very easy to take the simple things in life for granted; like being able to bend over and put on your underwear without experiencing agonizing pain. Never again will I mock or make light of those with a “bad back”. In fact add me to the list, because as I understand it, even once I get over this episode I will be more susceptible to reinjuring my back in the future. Oh, goody – I have that to look forward to. Well, I’m off to apply ice, apply heat, take my steroids/anti-inflamatories and maybe a pain pill or two. Pain pills – ah, see there is a silver lining!PS – Don’t you love the oriental titles on the pictures above? I’m not sure if they are Chinese or Japanese, but the picture shows a good example of a herniated disc for those who were wondering.

Leave a comment

Filed under All About Me

Leave a Reply

