Once Upon A Time…

Have you ever gone shoe shopping? You know, looking for just the perfect pair of shoes to go with that special outfit? Of course you have. We all have. And don’t you find that when you go looking for that special pair of shoes, that really only exist in your imagination anyway, they are no where to be found? But then think about those times that you go shopping with only the intention of “browsing”; you’re not really looking to buy anything, you just want to look around. Wouldn’t you know it; just when you least expect it, that’s when you find about half a dozen pairs of shoes that you just can’t live without?A couple of months ago, I took my sons to audition for a play at our local community theatre where they have been involved for several years. They talked me into trying out for a part in another play and I decided to give it a try (I actually made my decision in the car on the way to the auditions) I never dreamed I would actually get a part! But guess what? Yes, you guessed right. I got the role of the Wicked Stepmother in a musical version of “Cinderella”. Other than a couple of small skits at church, I have not acted in a play since my school days so this was quite a stretch for me.

Based on the feedback from my fans (family and friends that I bribed or coerced into coming to see me!), I was a real hit. And it was a lot of fun! I had to be really mean to this really sweet girl who played the part of Cinderella. Most of the time I found myself apologizing to her for being so mean and during one performance she said I actually almost made her cry! Wow, I guess I got a little carried away. Meryl Streep, watch out!

Anyway, it was fun to try something new and step out of my comfort zone. And let me just say that acting, singing and dancing in front of an audience is definitely out of my comfort zone. Once again, something good in life came along when I was least expecting it – kind of like shoes. And in this case, I guess the shoe fit!

Leave a comment

Filed under All About Me, Random Ramblings

Leave a Reply

