Are You Here On Holiday?

Why, yes! Yes, I am. At first I thought I was on vacation, but then after being asked several times if I was on holiday, I decided that I would be on holiday. Because really now, doesn’t being on holiday sound much more relaxing than just being on vacation? I’ve actually decided that from now on I will only go on holiday. No more vacations for me.

And unless you’ve been living under a rock or not reading my blog for the past 3 months, you know that my latest holiday was spent in the beautiful country of Ireland. Our adventure began in the bustling city of Dublin; home to approximately 1.2 million people. It is a vibrant, growing city with a unique combination of historical cathedrals and construction cranes. A large work force from Poland has joined the city and is working on many of the city’s construction projects.

Dublin is a walking city. I loved the fact that between public transportation and walking, you could get most anywhere you needed to go. And the people there walk at a pretty brisk pace. It’s not the same kind of rude, fast paced walking you see in NYC but more of a determined, “I’ve got somewhere to be and if you can’t keep up, please step aside” kind of pace. I found myself eventually trying to keep up with the people walking around me.

There was an energy in the city that made me feel good to be a part of the culture and what was going on around me. Demographically the city is fairly young, with an average age of about 30.

Maybe the city’s youthfulness is what makes it feel so alive. Or maybe it’s the pubs in Temple Bar or the shopping on Grafton Street. Whatever it is, it makes you feel like you’re on holiday!

 

1 Comment

Filed under An Irish Tale

One response to “Are You Here On Holiday?

  1. amber

    i want to see tons of pics from your holiday. i agree that is a lovely word. and we need to do lunch b/c i’m totally free from tax world.

Leave a Reply

