It’s Neither a Temple Nor a Bar

On Saturday, while in Dublin, we visited a section of town known as Temple Bar. The area was probably named after the Temple family who lived there in the early 17th century. Temple Bar was the location of the first performance of Handel’s “Messiah” on April 13, 1742. Now every year, on April 13, they have an annual performance of “Messiah” to commemorate the event. The area declined in popularity and fell into disrepair before being revived over the past 10 years. It is now a popular tourist spot and cultural center of the city.

We didn’t get to spend nearly enough time there and we didn’t get to explore the area at night; which is when I understand all the fun takes place. That only means one thing! I have to go back to Dublin so I can further explore Temple Bar. Anyone want to go with?

2 Comments

Filed under An Irish Tale

2 responses to “It’s Neither a Temple Nor a Bar

  1. Anonymous

    You know I’m in!! Three years might be too long to wait, tho.

    Sis

  2. Jackie

    Yeah, I’m having “Irish” withdrawals already. We don’t have to wait 3 years, just until my mason jar is full enough to pay for my way. I think I have $7.84 saved so far.

Leave a Reply

