Sugar, Sugar, You Are My Candy Girl

Hello! My name is J. and I’m an addict.

I’m addicted to this white powdery substance that has taken over my life and it’s all I can think about. I’m constantly looking for my next “fix”. I hide my stash around the house so my husband and kids won’t find it. I sneak around at work, sometimes even hiding out in my car so others won’t find out the kind of person I’ve become. It is adversely affecting my life, health and relationships.

The truth of the matter is…I’m addicted to SUGAR! There I said it out loud; or at least out blog. I have a sweet tooth the size of Hoover Dam and if I’m not careful my butt will soon be the same size. I’ve known for a while that I need to get serious about good health habits but in writing my last two blog entries (there’s nothing like an upcoming family reunion and the adverse side effects of diet pills to make one re-evaluate one’s eating habits), I realize now that I really need to take control of my life.

So, I’m going to try. No big diet announcements (I’ve tried them all). I’m just going to cut down initially – hey, I’m no fool. Do you know what going cold turkey from sugar will do to a person? But I am going to look for more natural sources of sweetness – fruit, etc. And I’m going to start walking again. I had worked my way up to several miles 3-4 nights a week before my trip to Ireland. Then all those potatoes undid any progress I may have made.

That’s my plan and I’m going to do my best to stick to it. Now I have to go and make a very painful phone call to the folks who manufacture Little Debbie Snack Cakes and let them know to expect a dip in sales starting tomorrow.

4 Comments

Filed under All About Me, Random Ramblings

4 responses to “Sugar, Sugar, You Are My Candy Girl

  1. Sis

    I hear ya! Our downfall is homemade ice cream. Seems a shame to have to give that up……

  2. Lisa

    Girl – I could have written that blog. I love sweets more than ANYTHING, but if I had to be honest, for my own sanety, safety and health, I truly wish God would just blow every granual of sugar off the face of the earth. I think my life would truly be better….physically and emotionally. Now, isn’t that sad?

  3. that means you won’t be able to try the delicious hostess orange cupcakes that qt is now selling all due in part to the wonderfully persuasive letter i sent them.

  4. Pingback: Death By Chocolate Becomes Her « Where the Boys Are

Leave a Reply

