How Often Should a Family Tree Fork?

Well, I just came back from our annual family reunion. I think I mentioned a few posts back some of my childhood memories surrounding reunion. I’m glad I have those memories because viewing these things through the lenses of adult eyes really changes things. Don’t get me wrong, I had a great time and the food was wonderful – oh, the FOOD! That’s an entire post in itself.

But time begins to take its toll and the reality of everyone’s mortality becomes more and more apparent – even my own. I was acutely aware this year of those loved ones who have passed away and are no longer with us. I felt myself trying to squeeze as many conversations with as many people as possible into the short time we had together. I felt almost frantic trying to snap photographs and trying make permanant memories of faces and places. I can’t remember feeling this nostaligic in a long time.

It was a sweet time of smiles and hugs, handshakes and back slaps. I laughed until I was ready to cry or wet my pants. (Both of which have happened at past reunions. Not by me, but there are members of my family who have admitted to losing control of certain bodily functions while laughing hysterically. I’m just saying.)

I’m thankful for my family and I’m thankful for the yearly opportunity to get together and visit, reminisce, eat and make lasting memories. I’m sure next year will bring new memories and another opportunity to laugh until I cry – or wet my pants. Looks like I’d better stock up on the Kleenex and Depends.

1 Comment

Filed under All About Me

One response to “How Often Should a Family Tree Fork?

  1. georgiamom

    I love family reunions! On my Mom’s side they were filled with good old southern cooking and lots of laughs. On my Dad’s side (they were from the north), it was filled with camping out, lots of drinking (not by me I was only a kid), parents ignoring the kids, and craziness. I have some not so fond memories of my Dad’s side, but great one from my Mom’s side! I’ll focus on the good memories :o)
    BTW, thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m so jealous of the new car. I’ve got 3 more years to drive my van and then I’m getting a new car. I’m already planning!
    Georgia Mom

Leave a Reply

