Proud Mama Moments

I’m proud of my boys. Just let me say that out loud, or out blog as the case may be. And if you give me a moment I’ll be glad to brag on their latest accomplishments. My oldest just finished a week at running camp. RUNNING CAMP, people! He spent a week of his summer at a camp where all he did was run, lift weights, run, do core exercises, run, and did I mention that he ran during that week. All of this in order to prepare for the upcoming cross country season. Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t run anywhere, unless I’m being chased and then it really depends on who’s doing the chasing as to whether or not I’m going to run at all. He’s in top physical condition and I admire his dedication and determination. Needless to say I’m proud of that boy.

The youngest has spent every Wednesday this summer at the local library being tutored by his teacher from last year. He struggled with some aspects of school last year – mainly the reading, writing and arithmetic parts – but by the end of the year he was performing at or above grade level. Thanks in part to his very dedicated 2nd grade teacher. So when she offered us the opportunity to participate in her summer tutoring program, we didn’t even hesitate. And boy #3 never complained about having to do school work over the summer. He has done well and we hope this will give him a jump start into 3rd grade. Needless to say, I’m proud of that boy.

Then there is the middle boy. He is a very talented actor and has participated in many productions at our local children’s community theatre. He’s had lead roles and small supporting parts. I’ve always been amazed at quickly he can memorize lines, blocking and stage marks. He even took diction lessons and learned to speak with a Cockney accent for his role in “A Christmas Carol”. He auditioned this week for a role in an upcoming production, but we learned today that he did not get a part. Was he disappointed? I think so, however, he accepted this disappointment with such grace and poise that I thought he must be much older and wiser than his age would suggest. Needless to say, I’m proud of that boy.

I’ll always be proud of my boys’ accomplishments, awards and accolades. I am their biggest cheerleader. But I think my proudest moments as a mom are when I get to catch a glimpse of them behaving like the strong, confident, Christian men I have prayed they would be – especially in moments of disappointment.

Needless to say, I’m proud of my boys!

2 Comments

Filed under The Boys Are Back

2 responses to “Proud Mama Moments

  1. Sis

    I’m proud of your boys, too. I think you’re doing an alright job over there…..just sayin’.

  2. Lisa

    Wow, I’m proud of them too. I can’t wait to get over there and see first hand on a daily basis!

Leave a Reply

