Hotter Than Georgia Asphalt

It has been so hot lately that our city actually broke a temp record that has stood since 1980. They (and I guess in this case the “they” would be the National Weather Service) recorded 103 degrees at the airport. ONE. HUNDRED. AND THREE. DEGREES! People, that’s just too hot for reasonable folks to be expected to handle. And by reasonable folks, I mean those of us who are fair-skinned, red-heads who get irritable when the temperature goes above 78. Personally, I tend to like my weather a little on the cooler side. That’s why fall has always been my favorite time of year.  You know, those crisp mornings with just enough chill in the air that you need a sweater. Of course Miss Rhode Island would argue that the perfect date is April 25. “Because it’s not too hot, not too cold, all you need is a light jacket.”

But seriously, there has got to be a break in this heat. I think there are statistics somewhere that support the increase in crime relative to the increase in weather temperature. Remember Kathleen Turner did have her husband killed in Body Heat when she started to suffer from extreme summer heat hot flashes. Now I’m not saying my husband is in danger, but if that little guy down at Starbucks gets my order wrong again…

“I said white chocolate frappuccino blended creme, idiot!”

…I can’t be held responsible for my behavior. After all, it is just the heat making me act this way.

5 Comments

Filed under All About Me, Random Ramblings

5 responses to “Hotter Than Georgia Asphalt

  1. Sis

    Yep, my car thermometer affirmed the 103 report yesterday! I noticed it as I was plotting my crime……

  2. Lisa

    I hear you about this terrible heat! Anything beyond 78 degrees is just way toooooo hot! I can’t wait until Fall…..mmmmmm, one of my favorite times of the year!!!!

  3. VickiNicki3387

    I concur.

Leave a Reply

