What Can I Say?

Well, it’s been a week since I last posted anything and all 5 of my devoted readers have probably abandoned me. But I’m still here! I’ve just been struggling with what to write about and what to say. I have felt sort of melancholy this week. Just a little this side of sad. I guess it’s all the bad “stuff” that I’ve been reading in the news lately that has me down.

First of all, it was the anniversary of 9-11 this past week, and while I have no distinct, personal connection, other than being a caring American, I always feel sad and reflective on that day. Then, there have been multiple earthquakes in Indonesia and the pictures of their losses break my heart. And silly as it seems, I have felt sad for Britney Spears this week. She is one pathetic little girl that needs someone to love her in an unconditional kind of way that she probably is not used to. She needs Jesus in a bad way, people! And she needs real rehab or she will be the next name in a “dead star” headline. I’m just saying.

But through the melancholy fog this week, God has shown me that I have so much to be thankful for. I have more love in my life than I ever thought possible. I am hanging on to that and to God’s promises. So I am happy!

On the lighter side:

  • There is a hole in the ceiling of my dining room’s bay window where rain is leaking in and more rain is expected today and tomorrow!
  • I have 8-10 high school freshmen “girls” coming to my house for a sleepover Saturday night. I know. You’re asking yourself what the heck that’s all about, and frankly so am I. It seems that maybe in a drunken stupor (kidding people) that I agreed to co-teach the high school freshmen girls’ Sunday School class at church. I visited their class last Sunday and somehow got suckered into hosting their first lock-in fellowship. Frankly, I don’t know much about teenage girls other than having been one some 30 odd years ago. I don’t know who will actually end up learning more – them or me.

Stay tuned. I’m sure I’ll have lots to write about next week!

4 Comments

Filed under Random Ramblings, You Gotta Have Faith

4 responses to “What Can I Say?

  1. VickiNicki

    Oh, Auntie J! Have no fear for one loyal reader is still here! Ok, so maybe that was a little corny. But you get my point. Anyway, for this weekend, just recall how I was as a freshman: sweet, perfectly obedient. witty, charming, adorable…..must I go on.? OK!, so you might remember something slightly different. I’ll be praying for you this weekend.

  2. I think you’re gonna adore those teenage girls. Just be a kid again, and remember the insanity of being a teenager. Try not to give too much parental advice–I know it is soooooo hard not to.
    Anyway, I know what you mean about Brittany. She seems headed for a terrible end, unless Jesus visits her personally, and soon.
    9-11 also takes me back to when I first saw those twin towers falling and heard the terrible news–“Terrorists.”
    I am going to be praying for you this weekend.

  3. Sit back, relax and learn from the girls this weekend. It should be so much fun, really. Can’t wait for a report. 😮

  4. Oh, I’ve been meaning to chime in and say “life, liberty and the pursuit of sanity in a household full of men” ~ so there with ya!

Leave a Reply

