More Than a Center Piece and Chicken Salad

So, last week I was in Nashville, TN attending Lifeway’s Women’s Ministry National Leadership Forum. I don’t even think I have the words to describe what a wonderful event this was and the impact it had on me.

I went there with our Pastor’s wife who is the Director of Women’s Ministries at our church. I serve as her “right arm”, as she describes me. I had never been involved in women’s ministry, other than to attend a couple of events here and there, until last year. But I felt God was prompting me to do more than just sit back and watch, and boy have I been blessed. I have also learned a lot.

I thought church women were all about their Mother/Daughter teas – which I never felt connected to because, unless I’ve forgotten to mention it somewhere along the way, I have three boys. Which leaves me deficient in the “daughter” part of any Mother/Daughter event. I wanted to see less “frou frou” and more “meat” in women’s events.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I love me some “frou frou” as much as the next woman, but I felt like there had to be more to women’s ministry than just great center pieces and terrific chicken salad. And this recent Leadership Forum confirmed that for me. There is more!

That confirmation came in the way of some great speakers, writers and teachers: Shaunti Feldhahn, Priscilla Shirer, and Kay Arthur. I was blown away by Kay Arthur who, at age 74, has more energy and enthusiasm than most women half her age.

I am excited to be a part of my church’s ministry for women and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for us in the coming year. I look forward to implementing some of what we learned at the forum and infusing some of the energy that we brought home into our women.

If you are not already involved in your church’s women’s ministry, I encourage you to do so. And if your church doesn’t have an organized ministry for women, get one started. There are so many resources available today that there is no reason not to. A simple bible study is great way to get started and a good way to begin connecting to other women in your church, neighborhood or community.

Of course a great center piece and some terrific chicken salad probably won’t hurt either.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cool Stuff & Beyond, You Gotta Have Faith

Leave a Reply

