I Keep Forgetting to Remember

I’ve been a little worried lately. I seem to be forgetting things a lot, and not just little things like where did I put the car keys – although when I’m trying to get out the door and to work on time, that is a BIG thing. But I seem to be forgetting fairly important things on a more regular basis.

Like my husband’s birthday. 

I mean, it’s not like we haven’t been married for almost 18 years and his birthday has been on the same date every year since I’ve known him, January 2. And because his birthday falls into the “dead zone”, you know – “the time of year when everyone is heading back to work and school after the holidays and they could really care less that you are having a birthday” – I’ve always done my best to make sure he felt special on his birthday.

But this year I forgot.

We were talking on the phone the morning of his birthday and as we were finishing up our conversation, I guess it became apparent to him that I had forgotten because he said, with more than just a little sadness in his voice, “Aren’t you going to wish me a happy birthday?”

Well, needless to say I felt terrible. I mean, over the years his own family members have forgotten to send cards or call him with birthday greetings, but I have ALWAYS remembered.

Until now.

I have, however, remembered to make it up to him. Happy Birthday, Hubby!

2 Comments

Filed under All About Me

2 responses to “I Keep Forgetting to Remember

  1. Sis

    Happy Birthday SuperD!!!!

    -The Sister

  2. mrs jackie u are so terrible!!!!! your own husband, aye yae yae yae! cool blog, like the color choice and all that, how many hits do you get a day? i can’t believe we didn’t get to see the “cute eyes” on sunday, better luck next time
    luv yah

Leave a Reply

