Lofty Goals

I’ve always encouraged my boys to dream BIG. I’ve always told them that they can do whatever they set their minds to. I’ve always said with enough hard work and dedication you can accomplish any goals you set for yourself.

I was wrong.

I realized the error of my ways the other day when our 8 year old said, “I should probably let you know that I’ve pretty much decided that I’m going to be a professional basketball player.”

Oops!

Well, he does have a couple of years of church league basketball under his belt. And he is tall “for his age”. I’m just not sure if it’s enough though. I don’t want to discourage him, but at the same time I don’t want to give him false hope.

I’m hoping that as soon as his basketball season is over here in few weeks that his attention will turn elsewhere and he will refocus his career goals on something a little more realistic; like maybe professional wrestling!

2 Comments

Filed under The Boys Are Back

2 responses to “Lofty Goals

  1. I remember having friends in college that were great at basketball. My husband is one of them.
    However, my husband also told me that at some point he realized that basketball would not be his career. Although he still loves basketball, he would probably suggest that you just allow your son the dream.
    If it’s to be, it will be. If not, God will redirect him.
    blessings

  2. VickiNicki3387

    I love the things those boys say. It cracks me up.

Leave a Reply

