Where There’s Smoke, There’s Trouble Walking

Today is the last day of Special Guest Writer Week. I want to thank all the writers who partcipated and the readers who left comments for my guests. I’m hoping this little exercise will convince some of them to go on and create their own blogs.

Today’s guest actually does have a blog. He is the youth pastor at our church and writes about the stuff that goes on in his life as well as some thoughtful devotions. You can find more Thoughts from Terry over at The Encounter.

Thanks again and I’ll be back on Monday with more of my own thoughts. About stuff.

 

 

 

Waking up, even though I do consider myself to be a morning person, can be a challenge sometimes.  I assume that even the best of us, who enjoy the morning time, can have difficulty getting started some days.

 

I was having one of those days. 

 

Another factor in my life right now is a small, but manageable, challenge that makes mornings even more interesting. I am just a few weeks out from having had knee surgery. So let’s just say that my knee is a tad bit stiff in the mornings, which makes getting up and moving, let alone moving fast, a little harder these days.

 

So, on a recent morning, I got out of bed and moved into our master bathroom to get myself ready for the day ahead.  I bathed, shaved, brushed the choppers, and had my clothes in hand. As a side note – it’s been becoming less and less difficult to get dressed since my knee surgery, but I still find that it is much safer and simpler to put on my knee brace while sitting on our bed. 

 

As I opened up the bathroom door to hobble, yes I said hobble, (and keep that visual in mind as you read on) to the bed I looked up and saw smoke. 

 

SMOKE!!

 

What? “Don’t panic”, I told myself. Yeah, right. 

 

I threw down my clothes and yelled to my wife, who was in the living room watching T.V. with our daughter, “Smooooke!”  I saw smoke, and we all know that where there is smoke there is usually fire! 

 

So I ran sprinted skipped, oh whatever one does when you’ve just had knee surgery three weeks earlier, to the other side of the bed. I was preparing myself to deal with the flames I thought I was about to encounter. I was also already going through my mind how to get my family out of the house and dial 911 at the same time. The adrenalin was pumping!

 

When I got to the other side of the bed I discovered the source of the “fire”. It seems that at some point in the middle of the night my lovely bride had turned on the humidifier, which was doing what humidifiers do. It was sending up big clouds of steam.

 

I took a deep breath. Of the calming steam. And waited for my heart rate to return to normal. I was relieved that everything was ok.

 

I also took a moment to think about how awkward I must have looked for those brief moments when I was trying to get to the other side of my bedroom, and I laughed. Then, realizing that all was well, I gingerly moved back to the other side of the bed and began to listen to the birds singing away outside as they do every day. I chuckled once again and went about my day.

 

So, what can be learned from this? Well, first of all ask your spouse to never turn on a humidifier in the middle of the night without letting you know. Otherwise the local fire department may be called to put out the ‘fire”.

 

And secondly, if you are going to run around your bedroom like a mad man yelling “smoke” and trying to put out an imaginary fire while doing the “stop, drop and roll” dance, don’t do it just three weeks after knee surgery.

1 Comment

Filed under BlogStuff, Guest Writers

One response to “Where There’s Smoke, There’s Trouble Walking

  1. Sis

    That’s a pretty funny visual. Hope the knee was ok!

Leave a Reply

