Death By Chocolate Becomes Her

I am by no means a health nut. I try to eat a somewhat balanced diet with fruits and vegetables and grains, etc.  And I exercise when the mood strikes me regularly.

My main struggle is with my old friend SUGAR. I have mentioned before how I battle against the evils of sweets. Especially anything that contains chocolate. I’m really trying to be more aware of my sugar intake for many reasons. First and foremost because diabetes is rampant throughout my family and I have already had gestational diabetes two out of three pregnancies. Which pretty much seals the deal for me to become diabetic at some point in my life. It’s just a matter of well can I manage it and how long can I keep it at bay.

So this week I have undergone, once again, a sugar detox period. I find that for me it is always better to just go “cold turkey”. Better for me, but not necessarily those around me. I get very cranky and difficult to live with. My husband might say that this is really no different than any other time, but he would be, you know, wrong! And the fact that he keeps bring home my favorite ice cream and Little Debbie Snack Cakes doesn’t help.

It’s been a rough week. On top of purging sugar from my system, I have been dealing with a sick child and a sick husband. And no they are not one and same. Add to this my work schedule, last minute school projects, the fact that I haven’t had time to buy groceries, or the teacher gifts that need purchased for the end of the school year, and you’ll understand why I was feeling pretty stressed out last night.

In order to save my own sanity and the lives of the people who live with me, I used what wits I had left and reached for a handful of semi-sweet chocolate chips, that I only keep on hand for moments like this baking purposes. I shoved them in my mouth hoping the calming effects would kick in as soon as possible. During the shoving process I dropped one down my shirt and felt it flutter out and to the floor. For a split second I thought about trying to retrieve it, but with two dogs in the house nothing lasts long on the floor around here.

Later, as I was getting ready for bed and feeling much calmer, which I’m sure was directly related to the chocolate chips, I was grateful to know that my overall health is good and besides a few extra pounds and a sugar addiction, I have a lot to be thankful for.

And that’s when I noticed the blood. Coming out of my belly button! It was dark and dried on my skin and there seemed to be a lot of it. My heart began racing and I started to call out for Hubby, because I was sure that something serious was wrong with me.

And then I paused. I scraped some of the blood off of my stomach and gave it a closer look. It had a strangely familiar odor to it.

It was chocolate. OMG, I thought. I’m bleeding chocolate!

Actually…the chocolate chip, that I thought had fallen through my shirt to the floor, had actually landed in my belly button! And melted. I was immediately relieved to know that I wasn’t dying.

I would like to say that this experience has convinced me to stay away from the semi-sweet morsels, but that would be me not telling the whole truth. Instead I’ll work on my aim when shoving them in my mouth and the next time a chocolate chip is unaccounted for – at least I’ll know where to look.

7 Comments

Filed under All About Me

7 responses to “Death By Chocolate Becomes Her

  1. Lisa

    OMG – I’m LOL! I can so sympathize with you – I think I need a sugar detox too. I was actually thinking about doing that on Monday!

  2. VickiNicki

    AAAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Wow! That’s awesome!!

  3. Sis

    Oh. My. Gosh!!

  4. Jennifer

    OMG! I am laughing out loud…I guess that means you have an “innie”. The question remains…did you lick your finger after you discovered it was chocolate!?!??!

  5. bleeding chocolate has to be one of the best things ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. I LOVE SWEETS!!! So, your blog made me smile… 🙂

  7. Melinda

    Unbelievable – bleeding chocolate! Now that’s something to ponder.

Leave a Reply

