“You Can’t Call It Derby Pie®” Pie

Derby Pie® is a registered trademark. The recipe for this dessert is a well guarded secret and the name is registered with the US Patent Office. That’s why I’m NOT calling my pie recipe Derby Pie®, because legally I can’t. 

Derby Pie® is one of the best pies in the world. I fell in love with it the first time I ever traveled to Kentucky and had the pleasure of sampling the “real thing.” The recipe that follows is the best substitute you will find outside of the Bluegrass State. It’s easy to make and can easily be changed (substitute 1/2 a cup of peanut butter chips for 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, use walnuts instead of pecans, etc.) or embellished (a few tablespoons of Kentucky bourbon would be an appropriate embellishment).

So have fun trying the recipe as is, or “make it your own, dawg.” Enjoy!

“You Can’t Call It Derby Pie®” Pie

2 eggs (room temperature)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 cup melted butter, cooled

1 cup chocolate chips

1 cup chopped pecans

1 tsp. vanilla

1 Mrs. Smith’s Deep Dish Frozen Pie Shell (you can make your own pie shell dough or use your favorite frozen or refrigerated kind.)

Beat eggs well. Add flour, and sugars. Mix well. Stir in melted butter and vanilla. Add Chocolate chips and and nuts. pour into pie shell and bake at 325 degrees for 55 – 65 minutes until puffy and golden brown.

For more recipe ideas, check out Saturday Stirrings over at “It Coulda’ Been Worse”.

2 Comments

Filed under Something's Cookin'

2 responses to ““You Can’t Call It Derby Pie®” Pie

  1. I’m totally saving this recipe for when I want to celebrate losing the rest of my weight……

    Which will put me back to square 1…..

    But will be worth it!

  2. wow, I didn’t know that that name was a registered trademark! I love this kind of pie! (I’m trying NOT to use the name of this pie that I love so much.) I’ve had the original – I live in KY for 3 years. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

