My Favorite Way of Cooking – Opening a Can

Yesterday was the last day of school. We celebrated by having have a block party with our neighbors. We decided to go with a Mexican food theme and everyone brought a dish to share. It was a fun party and all the kids ran around until almost midnight playing hide and seek with flashlights while the adults sat in lawn chairs on the driveway reminiscing about lazy, summer days from our own childhood.

Summer will pass quickly around here so we will try to hang on to every moment and memory and make them last as long as possible. In order to have more time with the family on these long summer evenings, I try to find ways to make dinner as light and easy as possible. And do so without having to turn the oven on. Anytime I can make something that comes primarily from a can or that can be made ahead of time is high on my list of favorites.

This recipe is really supposed to be a dip, but we like to fill up soft tortillas with it, add a little shredded cheese and you have a great, fresh tasting, veggie soft taco. It’s what I brought to the block party and everyone loved it!

Of course you can just sit down with a bag of nacho style chips and eat it as dip. Either way it’s good stuff.

“Black Bean and a Whole Lot of Other Stuff” Dip

Mix these ingredients together in a bowl:

  • 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can of shoe peg corn drained
  • 1 diced tomato (Remember I like to open cans, so I use a can of petite diced tomatoes, drained)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 red onion, chopped
  • 1 pepper, chopped (You get to choose the color. I don’t like green peppers, so I usually use a red, orange or yellow one depending on my mood.)
  • 2 ripe avacodoes, pealed, pitted and chopped
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, finely chopped

Mix all of the above together and then season with lime juice and Goya Adobo all purpose seasoning to taste. This “dip” is even better if you let it sit in the fridge for a few hours so all the flavors can mingle together.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and I hope you enjoy your long, lazy days of summer. For more recipes, visit It Coulda’ Been Worse for her Saturday Stirrings recipe sharing blog.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Something's Cookin'

One response to “My Favorite Way of Cooking – Opening a Can

  1. Love your site – and this is MY kind of recipe. That means I like it because it’s easy. I’m no cook, so I’m always on the look-out for the quick and easy ones. THANK YOU!

    Hey – check out my blog today – only because I want you and yours to be safe. My “baby” (ok, ok, she’s 27 and no baby, except she’ll always be my baby) – she had a run-in with some bad guys at a gas station back East. We can all take a lesson away from this one!

    http://thebutterflymind.com/ramblings_00008_letsgetserious.htm

    http://www.thebutterflymind.com

Leave a Reply

