There’s No Valet Parking at Summer Camp

I never went to summer church camp as a kid. We didn’t attend church growing up and it certainly wasn’t in the family budget. Instead I spent my summers at the local library trying to read the most books for the kids’ summer book club.  I always managed to far exceed the minimum requirement. And that was just in the first two weeks of summer.

So, week before last, our high school students at church were all set to go to camp, when at the last minute one of the female chaperones was unable to go. We racked our brains trying to find someone else who could go. Evidently, we didn’t rack our brains nearly hard enough because the person who ended up going was me.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m not opposed to serving others, getting outside my comfort zone, blah, blah, blah. I just always figured those things could be done in the comfort of air conditioning as well as anywhere. Right?

When we arrived at “Camp Roughing It”, I was more than a little surprised to find that the cabins we would be staying in had no air conditioning. Heck, they didn’t even have completely closed off walls. There were gaps between the walls and roof big enough for any kind of woodland creature to crawl through. And before the end of the week most of them did.

The 22 high school girls and the other two adult leaders were as unimpressed with the accommodations as I was. It quickly became apparent that this would be a difficult week since we were looking at average daytime highs of 93 degrees and 189% humidity.

Now, I am no camper and as a fair-skinned, redhead I’m not exactly the “outdoorsy” type. I suddenly felt like the Goldie Hawn character in Private Benjamin when she says she joined a “different army.” Like the lead character, Judy Benjamin, I was hoping for a “different camp” – the one with the “condos and the private rooms”.

And, like Judy Benjamin, I just wanted to “wear my sandals again, go out to lunch, and be NORMAL again!

But, I would never be “normal”, again.

To be continued…

 

3 Comments

Filed under All About Me, You Gotta Have Faith

3 responses to “There’s No Valet Parking at Summer Camp

  1. Wow that sounds hard. I cannot wait to read more!

  2. Lisa

    It definitely sounds like the camp I used to go to! But it’s funny how I really don’t remember the bugs, even though I’m sure they were there!

  3. Pingback: O Beautiful. The World Stands Still. « Where the Boys Are

Leave a Reply

