“Mom, you need to slow down. The speed limit is 30.”

This post was originally written in November of 2006 and since I’m taking a little sabatical from blogging over the next couple of days, I thought I would turn to summer re-runs. And besides the topic still applies 2 years later.

 
I was driving my youngest to school the other morning when he glanced over at the speedometer in my vehicle and told me I was driving too fast. Okay, I guess I was. It seems lately that there is a constant sense of urgency in my life. I feel like I need to rush everywhere I go and that there is not enough time in the day to accomplish the things I need to do. The truth is I have the same amount of time as everyone else in the world has. 24 hours. I have 24 hours each and every day to sleep, eat, work full-time, make sure the kids get to school on time, do laundry, cook, clean the house, volunteer, drive the boys back and forth to their extra curricular activities, spend quality time with God, my husband, children, friends and family, grocery shop, assist with homework, read, study, and the list goes on. I guess there are some things that I could cut out, but it’s hard to know where to begin. And did you notice that I was missing from the list? When do I fit myself into my busy schedule?

I’m praying that God will reveal to me where and how I need to simplify my life. In the mean time, I’ll try to be a better steward of the 24 hours I receive each day and I’ll try to pay better attention to life’s speed limit sign.

 
 

 

1 Comment

Filed under All About Me, The Boys Are Back, You Gotta Have Faith

One response to ““Mom, you need to slow down. The speed limit is 30.”

  1. Im so with you I need to slow down!

Leave a Reply

