O Beautiful. The World Stands Still.

I’m back home after a little Fourth of July getaway break to the mountains. We rented a cabin with my husband’s sister and brother and their families. This cabin was definitely different from the cabin I stayed in a few weeks ago at Summer Youth Camp. This was the kind of roughing it I like. The kind with flat screen TVs, hot tubs and internet access.

Ah – the simple life!

Actually, I spent most of my time sitting in a lounge chair in the middle of the river that ran beside the cabin. It was so relaxing. The only thing that would have made it better would have been food and drink delivery service to me in the middle of the river. Oh, wait; I had that. It’s called having three boys who don’t really mind waiting on their mother. Especially when she’s bribing them with everything on earth she can think of. I just hope I don’t have to make good on that pony.

Truthfully, (when they weren’t waiting on me) the boys spent a great deal of their time swimming and paddling up and down the river in a kayak/canoe thingie. I don’t know what it was, but it floated. And they also spent hours swinging off an old rope swing and jumping into the river below. You know the kind of Tom Sawyer stuff that boys just eat up and don’t get nearly enough of in a world full of computers, video games, Disney Channel and texting.

It was a nice chance to re-charge our batteries and spend some time enjoying family and lazy summer days.

Now that’s the American way!

1 Comment

Filed under Cool Stuff & Beyond, The Boys Are Back

One response to “O Beautiful. The World Stands Still.

  1. So glad you enjoyed yourself!

Leave a Reply

