This Is How You Remind Me

I take so much for granted.

I just expect to wake up each morning after having slept the night before. I automatically pull clothes from my closet to wear. And as I leave my house each morning, I don’t think about it not being there when I return in the evening.

We ran into some friends at dinner the other night who live in our neighborhood. Their house was struck by lightning this week and burned to the ground. They lost everything. They escaped with their lives, the family dog and a few family photos.

I felt utterly helpless and devastated for them. I actually felt like crying. The wife and mother of the family smiled and said through the entire experience they had been blessed and reminded of what’s really important. She was comforting me and telling me everything was going to be okay.

When I asked how we could help, all she asked for was copies of pictures I might have of her children from community theater plays our kids have been in together. Obviously, I want to do more. I want to bless this family as they try to rebuild their home and their lives.

I want to thank them for reminding me that everything we own can be stripped away and we can still have all we need.

Philippians 4:19

“And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”

2 Comments

Filed under You Gotta Have Faith

2 responses to “This Is How You Remind Me

  1. Wow nothing like that to put your life in perspective. Wow I would feel so helpless…

  2. Lisa

    Yes, so true. But of course, I love how you put it into words!

Leave a Reply

