What Do You Want For Dinner?

Every day between 3:30 and 4:00 pm, my husband and I have the same conversation.

Hubby: “Are you ready to have the conversation?”

Me: “I guess? Are you?”

Hubby: “Yeah. So, what do you feel like for dinner?”

Me: “I don’t know. What do you feel like?”

Hubby: “I don’t care? You get to choose because I decided what we were having last night.”

Me: “No, that was me deciding last night. You have to choose.”

Hubby: “How about cereal night?”

Me: “No, that’s what we did last night.”

And so on and so forth. And actually the speaking parts of the conversation are interchangeable based who placed the phone call.

It’s very frustrating that I can plan parties, weddings, holidays; almost any event you can think of, but I have trouble putting together a simple family meal plan week to week. In fact, if I were to ever win the lottery, the first thing I would do is hire a professional cook to plan and prepare my family’s meals.

I can make decisions all day long about other aspects of life but trying to decide what to have for dinner each night just about makes my head explode. So, that’s where you guys come in. Help keep my head from exploding by sending me your favorite dinner ideas. Remember to keep them simple, because after I work at the office all day, the last thing I want to do is come home and try to put together a complicated meal.

I know my family will be appreciative of any ideas you may have, because they’re really getting tired of cereal night.

5 Comments

Filed under Around the House, Something's Cookin'

5 responses to “What Do You Want For Dinner?

  1. Lisa

    I totally get that! I hate cooking dinner every night now. So, the simpler the better. I always make sure I have some Walmart frozen burgers in the freezer (I like the vidalia onion ones in the box ). Also, our favorite hot dogs too – Nathan’s. Another thing I like to keep around is the big bag of frozen shrimp. Thaw out and pull off tail, melt some butter and olive oil, some fresh garlic, heat up the shrimp in the oil mixture and toss with lots of parmesan cheese and your favorite pasta. Serve with bread, or no bread, and a tossed salad. Yum. And then there’s always eggs and pancakes!

  2. Sis

    We should do that once a month, or once every 2 weeks cooking, where we get together and make freezer meals. It’s always more fun to cook with someone.

    Seriously, think about it……..

  3. I so know what you mean! I just randomly flip to a page in cooking light haha

  4. Pizza night?! 🙂 Okay, not really… I LOVED the crock pot when I was going to school – I would do my prep work the night before, refrigerate everything (sometimes in the pot depending on what it was…) and throw it together and plug it in so when I got back that night, dinner was ready! 🙂

  5. Does your family like salad? Can you make a big one on Sunday night. Most stores make cut up onions, celery and carrots now. You can get sunflower seeds and seseame sticks to mix it up a bit during the week (or add some hard boiled egg)

    Then you can make pasta and that beer bread you mentioned in the other blog OR take chicken or boneless pork chops and leave them sit all day in the fridge soaking in BBQ sauce. Then light the grill and 5 mins a side. THEN you can always micro wave your potatoes first for 5 mins, then stick on the grill and they should be ready in about 15 mins.

    How about build your own pizza? Our store has its own dough you buy and then buy the sauce, fresh sausage or pepperoni. The kids could do that for you before you get home for work.

    Another thing the kids could do for you is flop the chicken (or pork chop) in egg, then flop it in flour, then flop it in egg again, then flop it in bread crums. Then when you get home, fry lightly in olive oil – side of rice and veggie and you have dinner.

    I do all my flopping on plates and make little stations.

    Nothing wrong with a picnic in the back yard – a little cheese, a little crackers, some dried fruit and nut variety…. cookies for dessert. Play some croquet or bocci ball too!

Leave a Reply

