Heroes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They come in all kinds of packages; all ages, shapes and sizes.

 

Heroes are people who, by definition, are known for feats of courage and achievement.

 

This past Saturday, two of our boys ran in a 5K race. That’s not so unusual for the oldest, considering he’s on his high school cross country team. But the youngest is only 9 and had no other reason for running than the fact that he looks up to his biggest brother and wants to be just like him. He is his hero in many aspects.

 

Big Brother M thinks his youngest brother is a hero for getting up on a hot, July Saturday and running 3.1 miles.

 

On this day they were both my heroes. M for being such a good role model for his littlest brother, helping him train and giving him race day tips on how to do well, and J was my little hero for never giving up and for not only finishing the race, but doing so well ahead of many other runners.

 

Yes, they are both heroes because not only did they run hard for the finish line; they gave it everything they had.

 

And that’s what it’s all about!

 

(Visit 5 Minutes For Mom for more Wordless Wednesday Pictures)

 

1 Corinthians 9:26 (The Message)

I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.

 

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under The Boys Are Back, Wordless Wednesday, You Gotta Have Faith

8 responses to “Heroes

  1. andreamcmann

    Your post brought tears to my eyes, especially the part about how much your younger son admires his brother!!

  2. that has to be one of the sweetest things I have read in a long time! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. I love this! What an awesome thing to have an older sibling that takes the time to invest in a younger sibling! This post blessed me! Really this is what family is about! great post!

  4. Lisa

    Way to go Jeremy – that is so awesome!!!!

  5. That’s an awesome pic!! It’s wonderful that you shared it and the story with us. Thanks for a great WW!!

  6. Inspirational post and picture. Thanks for sharing.
    And thanks for stopping by my blog. Happy belated WW! :

Leave a Reply

