Tales of a Fourth Grade Something

Our youngest started fourth grade this past week. It’s a milestone for us because this will be his last year in elementary school. Our elementary school only goes through 4th grade and then they move to an intermediate school for grades five and six before heading to middle school.

So this year will be full of those “last time” moments for him and us. He will be our last child to go through this school and there will be a certain amount of “misty, water-colored memories” for me to deal with.

Speaking of memories, I actually started reminiscing about my own fourth grade experience and found this:

Even today, I'm still second guessing that hair-do.

Even today, I'm still second guessing that hair-do.

I remember wearing that purple dress with the ruffles for class pictures because it was my favorite dress that year. Obviously, I was not reading Glamour’s Dos and Don’ts yet. And the hair? Well, let’s just say that my decision to choose “the shag” was heavily influenced by Carol Brady.

My fourth grade hair-do heroine.

My fourth grade hair-do heroine.

See what I mean?

Fourth grade is tough. It’s part of the awkward years when you are trying to decide who you are and how to get there.

I obviously thought I was going to be asked to make a guest appearance on The Brady Bunch and that I would get there by wearing my favorite dress and imitating the hairstyle of my favorite TV mom.

Unfortunately, that didn’t happen and four years later, in 8th grade, I desserted Carol and jumped on the Toni Tennille hair style bandwagon.

 

Obviously, my awkward years lasted well past the 4th grade. But I did know all the words to “Love Will Keep Us Together” and “Muskrat Love.” That has to count for something.

7 Comments

Filed under All About Me, Random Ramblings, The Boys Are Back

7 responses to “Tales of a Fourth Grade Something

  1. Good post!

    I remember getting the “Dorthy Hammill” hair cut. It was the first “copy” I asked for.

  2. I love the flashback hair styles… when I was in forth grade I had plain ‘ol long wavy red hair, and everyone loved to call me “Red”, of course! I still answer to that today!

  3. Aww you were just too cute!

  4. Sis

    Wait a minute!! Where’s the picture of the Princess Di haircut? LOL

  5. Some things are better left to the imagination!

  6. Lisa

    Hey – I think I have pics of me somewhere with the same hair cuts! Thanks for the flashback!

  7. Oh, my God- those are hilarious!! I love your inspiration, LOL! Thanks for playing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

