Another “Not So” Wordless Wednesday – A Little Ray of Sunflowers

Today my dear friend Twila is burying her daddy. He passed away last Friday. Yesterday I had the privilege and honor of putting together the PowerPoint slide show that the family will use at today’s service.  After scanning all the photos and spending several hours cropping and sorting through the pictures, I almost felt like I knew her dad, even though I never met him.

The photographs showed a man who enjoyed life and his family. They showed a man whose smile was as wide as the farms fields he worked on up until his death. 

Twila wrote this about her daddy in a facebook message:

“I wish so much that each and everyone of you could have had the opportunity to meet my daddy. As with each of us, he was my hero in all aspects of the word. He gave up so much and went above and beyond for my siblings and me. Now that he has passed, I have had so many others tell me what he did for them and others in the community it is unreal. He was a very giving and caring man. When his brother passed away in 1974, I saw him become the father to my two cousins. His sister, age 86, became house bound with alzheimers, he would bring her dinner and sit with her each Saturday night. When the young divorced lady across the road had a tree fall, he went and chopped it up without even being asked. She also made the comment of how many times he cut her grass. Then there are the free eggs and milk he would deliver to people on Sundays. The stories go on and on.

I have been so blessed to have him, healthy, in my life for almost 43 years. I will carry his laughter, his stories, his life lessons, his witty comments, hopefully his work ethic, his love for Christ, his love for people, and his giving nature with me the rest of my life and hopefully pass it on to my children.

Thank you again for thinking of us and praying for us. It means the world to me.”

The sunflowers were a “thank you” from Twila and I wanted to share them with you, and ask that you pray for her and her family today as they celebrate the life and passing of their loved one.

Wordless Wednesdays is sponsored by 5 Minutes For Mom.

                                                                                                                                                             Matthew 5:4

Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

7 Comments

Filed under Wordless Wednesday, You Gotta Have Faith

7 responses to “Another “Not So” Wordless Wednesday – A Little Ray of Sunflowers

  1. andreamcmann

    What a beautiful bouquet, and even more beautiful words from your friend, Twila! My grandpa passed away four years ago. He was one of those special, one-in-a-million guys, like your friend’s dad. I’m sure this is a hard time for her, but she’s right: she was awfully lucky to have him in her life! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Yes, totally lovely! How thooughtful.

  3. yestheyareallmine

    He sounds like he was a wonderful man. Prayers to your friend and her family.
    The sunflowers are beautiful.

  4. Such beautiful words and testimony – I will say a prayer for your friend and her family…
    I love the sunflowers! What a nice gift of thanks -They are beautiful!!!

  5. Sis

    Last night I read where someone refered to a loved one’s passing as “promoted to glory”. I thought that was a nice way to say it.

    This reminds us to love them while we have the chance. Time is so short.

    Praying for Twila and her family…….

  6. Helen

    I just came from the funeral of Twila’s dad. How sweet and special it was. Like you, Jackie, after hearing about Twila’s dad (AKA: Dr. Strickland, D-Dad, etc…) you instantly feel the love this man shared. It was obvious that he touched so many lives around him. Twila shared that he was such a vital part of the whole community. The church literally overflowed with people paying their respects. I pray that we all remember to live and love as this man did – all for the glory of God.

  7. Beautiful pictures! I love sunflowers. And I also love the picture on your header of your boys’ hands. I’ve taken one like that and it is truly a keepsake! There is just something about little boys’ hands that are so precious. By the way, thanks so much for stopping by my blog! It sounds like you love blog carnivals just as much as I do, so I just wanted to let you know that I’m starting one of my own on Monday, August 18th, – with prize attached! Thought you might want to check it out. Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

