What Do You Want?

Have you ever been out with your spouse or a friend and found yourselves trying to decide what to do or where to eat? We’ve all been there and we’ve all had “that” conversation.

 

“What do you want?”

 

“I don’t know. What do you want?”

 

“I don’t care; whatever you want.”

 

This usually goes on until someone is faced with making a decision for the both of you. And unless you really don’t care, you had better put in your 2 cents worth. Otherwise you may end up doing or eating something that you really didn’t want to be doing or eating in the first place.

 

I woke up the other morning like I usually do; struggling to fight my way out of the twilight of another night’s sleep. I like to set my alarm for about 30 minutes earlier than I really need to get up so I can lie in bed and postpone the inevitable meet and greet of the day ahead. I also use this time to pray and to talk to God. It’s how I start my day.

 

On this particular morning, however, God started the conversation. The words, “What do you want?” filtered into my foggy brain.

 

“What do I want?” I repeated. Then I answered without hesitation.

 

“I want what You want!”

 

I realize that by giving this answer I’m not putting in my 2 cents worth and more than likely I won’t get my way, but that’s ok. Because His way is better and I know that in the long run He knows what is best for me.

 

So for once, “that” conversation was short and sweet and I know I can feel good about the outcome; whatever it may be.

 

 

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.’” (Jeremiah 29:11, NIV)

3 Comments

Filed under All About Me, You Gotta Have Faith

3 responses to “What Do You Want?

  1. That is so sweet, great read!

  2. vickinicki3387

    God is good!

  3. Melinda

    My life verse – don’t you just love it?!!

Leave a Reply

