My Road Is Always Paved With the Best of Intentions

Last Friday I came home after work intending to clean my house. I get off at noon on Fridays and try to keep my schedule clear on Friday afternoons so I can get the house in order. And so I don’t have to do it over the weekend.

I wandered around the house picking up a few things and returning them to their rightful place. I looked around and pondered where to begin my cleaning eforts. I decided to get a cold drink and a quick bite of lunch first. I was sure that would get me motivated and inspired to dive into my cleaning chores.

As I opened the refrigerator door I noticed several science projects tupperware containers that I had been meaning to remove from the refrigerator. They really needed to be taken care of and I figured it would only take a minute.

Two hours later I was elbow deep in expired salad dressings, old ketchup bottles, and leftovers that I had been sure we would eat before they went bad. I ended up with a newly organized, mostly clean refrigerator. I say mostly clean, because there are still a couple of shelves that need wiped down and scrubbed. Whoever you are that keeps spilling things in my frig and not cleaning them up, I will find you! The list of usual suspects is pretty short and I watch enough Law and Order to be able to solve most any crime.

After I closed the refrigerator door I glanced at the rest of the house and realized I had not done what I had set out to do. The floors still needed swept and mopped. The bathrooms still needed cleaning, and there was unwashed laundry in a pile on the floor. I felt like a failure once again.

Why is it that we set out headed in one direction and then we find ourselves in a totally different place than we had originally intended to go? Why can’t we stick to that new diet? Why don’t we excercise everyday like we’ve said we would? Why don’t we keep the promises we’ve made to ourselves and others?

I don’t think we purposefully set out to disappoint ourselves or others. But we certainly do let ourselves get distracted. Sometimes we don’t realized we’ve let ourselves get diverted from our original destination until we are already far from it.

I know good intentions are not enough. I know I have to keep myself focused and headed in the right direction. And, I know I can’t do it alone.

The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD, and He delights in his way. Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down, for the LORD upholds him with His hand. – Psalm 37:23

Today is a new day and a new week lies ahead of me. I have a chance to begin again and set new goals for myself. My intentions remain good ones and with God’s help I hope to see the road ahead paved with fulfilled purposes and lined with completed promises. 

And clean houses!

God, please help me keep my eyes on You and and I ask that You direct my steps each day. Remove distractions from my life that prevent me from arriving at my intended destination. Most of all I pray that you help me clearly see where I should be going and what I should be doing. Let my destination be Your destination. And keep me on the path that leads to You! Amen.

4 Comments

Filed under All About Me, You Gotta Have Faith

4 responses to “My Road Is Always Paved With the Best of Intentions

  1. cheryl

    hmmm…I thought I was the only person this ever happens to!! whew, is that a load off my mind to think that a hero like you does the same thing! oh how many times one closet has cost me a whole day that was supposed to be spent elswhere!

    Africa in April….keep your eye on the ball.

  2. Lisa

    I hear ya – I think we just have so many things to keep up with that by the time we get to them, they are just too overwhelming to spend a few minutes on!

  3. Helen

    Yes, it’s good to be validated. I guess the point is to keep moving toward the goal… and the Lord! He will help us. It just may take a little longer to get there sometimes… Hey, the good thing is that you don’t have to clean your fridge for a VERY long time! 🙂

  4. Melinda

    Ah, those good intentions! If we’d just figure out that it’s His good intentions – not ours – that matter most. Now I need to go clean my fridge – thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

