2008 Christmas Tour of My Home

It’s hard to believe another year has come and gone. It seems like it wasn’t that long ago I was packing up these bins to store them away.

picture-005

But there I was the weekend after Thanksgiving, dragging them all out again and trying to get the house ready for BooMama’s Tour of Homes.

I had plenty of help from my men, and in no time we had four trees up and decorated and most of the halls were decked. Fa la la la la.

picture-056

This is our main tree in our family room along with the stockings. Which were hung by the chimney. With great care. Because if you remember from last year, the stockings were too heavy for the stocking hangers and I had to resort to the use of duct tape to secure them to the mantle. So far so good this year, but I have an entire roll of duct tape on stand by.

picture-106

This is the newest tree I have added to the family. I got it on sale last year after Christmas at Walmart. It’s one of those pre-lit “skinny” trees and it fits perfectly in the corner of my eat-in kitchen. I heart it!

 

 

 

Next up is the dining room. Notice the greenery and bow on the light fixture? I stole that idea from the local Holiday Tour of Homes that Sis and I went on. And that spot on the ceiling is really just a shadow from the bow. Didn’t want you to think I had a big spot on my ceiling. That actually is in the kitchen.

picture-0321

Then here is my buffet in the dining room. The trunk you see there was left to my by my Mamaw. She used it as a trunk for her doll clothes when she was a little girl.

picture-027

 

picture-031

Here is an up close look at my treasured doll trunk. A few Christmas balls and a large tassel make it a part of the Christmas decor.

Stay with me; we’re almost done.

Here is the retro tree that resides in the upstairs hallway. It is decorated with colored lights, and handmade ornaments from my Mamaw, and my brother and sister and me when we were kids – like the shrinky dinks that we painted and baked.

picture-045

This tree now has additional tacky garland and is complete with silver strands of tinsel. You just have to use your imagination because I didn’t feel like taking another picture.

And, if you’ve been counting, you realize that I said we put up and decorated four trees, and there are only three pictured here. Well, the fourth is in the basement and evidently Hubby hasn’t finished decorating “his” tree. So you will just have to take my word about the fourth tree.

So that’s it. Thanks for stopping by and I wish you and yours a Blessed and Merry Christmas!

picture-044

 

For more fun Christmas Home Tours and decorating ideas, check out these sites as well:

Hooked on Houses and Southern Hospitality.

13 Comments

Filed under Around the House, BlogStuff

13 responses to “2008 Christmas Tour of My Home

  1. Your home is beautiful and I love the name of your blog! I have two boys. I always end up needing duct tape!!! It drives me crazy! Thanks for sharing!
    Merry Christmas!
    -kim

  2. You have a beautiful home…so warm and inviting. I love all three trees pictured. I’m trying to picture what a tree would look like decorated solely by my husband?!?!?!?!

    Thanks for sharing…
    And happy holidays!

  3. The great part of this whole tour is getting great ideas, and I love your retro tree! It is a GREAT idea. Maybe next year, I will also have a retro tree.
    Thank you for sharing.

  4. Cari

    Hey girl, I just realized that this was YOU! I love it. Great job! You are a gifted writer, lady. I have really enjoyed your posts.

  5. I adore your doll trunk! Special memories, to me, really bring out the love of Christmastime.

  6. Melinda

    Absolutely beautiful – but I wouldn’t expect anything else from my friend! God bless and Merry Christmas!

  7. So fun and festive! Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us.

    Merry Christmas!

  8. I lover your decor! Thanks for sharing! I am also a mom of 3 boys ages 9 1/2, 7 3/4 and 6 3/4!
    Merry Christmas
    Kara-North Texas

  9. i love the main room! looks like it’s straight out of a magazine!

  10. Four trees??? You’re quite an ambitious decorator! It all looks very pretty.

  11. I think I’m going to be on the lookout for an extra tree during the after-Christmas sales after seeing all of your beautiful trees! Beautiful home, and I can tell you have a lot of fun decorating it.

    Merry Christmas!

  12. Everything looks great! Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas. Thanks for stopping by and leaving comment love. I hope you will visit again!

  13. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

    ~ Laura Bruen

Leave a Reply

