Winding Down and Gearing Up

My Christmas break vacation is rapidly coming to an end. I’ve only had to work one day in the past two weeks; which has been nice. I drank lots of coffee, ate too many rich foods, did way too much unnecessary shopping and totally messed up my body’s sleep pattern. All in all, I’d call it a great success.

Actually, though, I’m looking forward to returning to work on Monday. I really need some structure and discipline in my life. And that only comes from the knowledge that I have to get up, get the boys off to school and show up at my workplace on time.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy being a lady of leisure, but I can only take it in small, two week doses at a time. If I lived this way all the time I would be in serious, slovenly trouble. I would like to think that I would accomplish all those little projects that seem to hang overhead constantly, and I would like to imagine that my house would be spic and span perfect, with a home cooked dinner on the table each night by 6 o’clock, but let’s be reasonable. The truth is I thrive on schedules and deadlines. Too much free time on my hands results in a lot of wasted time.

Case in point. I spent my New Year’s Eve and early New Year’s Day morning watching a “Planet of the Apes” marathon. I’m telling you, once you get sucked into something like that it’s hard to turn away. I’m just weak like that. I am all about seeing things through and finishing what I start, and I’ve always considered those to be admirable qualities.

Except where badly made movies from the mid-1970s about battling apes and humans are concerned I guess. I’ll try to work on that in 2009.

Happy New Year!

2 Comments

Filed under All About Me

2 responses to “Winding Down and Gearing Up

  1. Suzanne

    you make me smile 🙂

  2. Helen Mitchell

    I love your insights to things. Write on!!

Leave a Reply

