Concentrating On My Laundry Detergent

I’ve never really had any brand loyalty when it comes to buying laundry detergent. I’ve always been persuaded to make my purchases based on cheap prices, pretty packaging, and the promise of clothes that smell like “the mountains in springtime.”

I’ve always been a sucker for that “mountains in springtime” smell. Not that I could tell the difference between mountains in spring and mountains in summer. I could totally be getting ripped off by paying for springtime smells when in reality the laundry detergent folks are passing off summer scents.

And somebody please tell me why my clothes are getting just as clean (or cleaner as some would claim) when I’m using  less detergent. It seems all the laundry soaps have gone to a 2x, or in some cases 3x, concentrated formula.

I’m not sure what that means except that I can now lift the bottles of detergent off the shelf at the store and put it in my shopping cart without giving myself a hernia. And I no longer have to rent storage space to house my family sized box of laundry detergent.

Am I getting a better deal? Probably not, because I usually feel the need to use more soap than what the directions call for. I can’t help it. I just don’t feel like the stinky, sweaty, dirty clothes that my boys leave in piles all over the house are getting clean by using  half a tablespoon of laundry soap.

Supposedly the concentrated versions use less water to manufacture, less packaging to ship and store, and are, therefore, better for the environment. And they are supposed to get my clothes as clean, if not cleaner, than the original versions.

All of that may or may not be true, but none of it really matters if my clothes don’t smell like the mountains in springtime.

1 Comment

Filed under All About Me, Random Ramblings

One response to “Concentrating On My Laundry Detergent

  1. Jennifer

    Try having a HE washer, you are supposed to use even less detergent than normal washers! I, too, tend to over do it.

Leave a Reply

