The Gift Trifecta

Hubby and I will be celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary this month. I was sort of forced into choosing the month of February for our wedding because of sports’ schedules. And my inability to handle weather with temperatures over 76 degrees or any type of humidity.

I was never destined to be a June bride. Or July. Or August. Or the first half of September for that matter. It’s just too hot.

March wasn’t an option because Hubby informed me that was when March Madness took place. April had spring breaks and Easter (usually) to contend with and May had Mother’s Day. December and November were never really contenders because of the holidays.

Besides, I had always wanted a fall wedding. Fall is my favorite time of the year and I had decided October would be the perfect month to get married. Except I didn’t take into consideration the fall college football game schedule. And it quickly became my nemisis.

(about to be) Hubby informed me that were no good Saturdays in October for a wedding because it would be too difficult to get his groomsmen to attend our wedding instead of game day at their alma maters.

I asked about away games, looked for a by week, all in an effort to have my wedding in Ocotber. It soon became clear that I was losing the battle, and we finally comprised on the sports deprived month of February.

I knew I would live to regret it eventually because I suspected I had a lifetime of combination Valentine’s and anniversary gifts ahead of me.

Oh, Hubby made the valiant effort the first years of our marriage. He brought home the Brach’s chocolates in the heart-shaped box for Valentine’s Day and the occasional grocery store bouquet of flowers for our anniversary, but then, in all the sports minded brilliance he could muster, he created The Gift Trifecta.

He made me the promise that each year he would surprise me with one big gift that was intended to cover Valentine’s Day, our anniverary and my birthday. And even though my birthday falls almost a month after our anniversary, I was willing to agree.

So for the past decade I have been receiving my Trifecta gifts. I start to get all giddy this time of year with anticipation because some of my past gifts have been the kind of fun toys that take the sting out of receiving a combination gift. (digital camera, MP3 player, cell phone, Palm Pilot, etc.)

I may have lost the battle for my wedding date back in 1990, but I have definitely won the war! Long live The Trifecta Gift!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Gift Trifecta

  1. Wendi

    Ooooooh! I hope you get a good one! I got a flat-screen tv (nice one) for Valentines this year. Yes, I already got it. This totally makes up for the cow, steak knives, goat, and “nothing” I’ve gotten all the past years! Jack really does not do well with gift-giving. I like the big gifts better… they last longer… even the cow got sold before a year was up!

  2. Lisa

    Fun Jackie – I can’t wait to see what it is going to be. I hear the drum roll now……

  3. Melinda

    I think I know what it’s going to be this year – and I love it too! Happy 19th you two!

Leave a Reply

