5 For Friday – Spring Cleaning

Five things I learned last week while cleaning:

  1. Don’t bite off more than you can chew. I chose one room each day to clean. And when I say clean, I mean move the furniture and rediscover your baseboards kind of cleaning. So while one room a day sounds wimpy, believe me when I say it was plenty to tackle.
  2. Don’t use Swiffer Wet Jet or Orange Glo or any of those other advertised hardwood floor cleaners. You will be sorry you ever did! I am. At first I loved the shine on my floors and the way my house smelled after using them, but over time I noticed a scummy, build up on my floors that only hands and knees and scrubbing like Cinderella would get rid of. Only water and vinegar on my hardwoods from now on!
  3. Don’t forget to take breaks and pamper yourself during large cleaning projects. Ok, so I didn’t do such a great job with this one myself, but I did take time out to watch a few movies with the boys and I ate a few bowls of ice cream. And popcorn. And Little Debbies. In fact, if I stayed home all the time I think I would instantly gain 15 lbs. from all the available snackage around the house. Good thing I went back to work this past Monday, huh?
  4. Don’t be too hasty to put the winter clothes away just because it’s Spring Break! We had a little cold snap and actually had some sleet and snow last week. I know it’s crazy, but this is Georgia and like they say, “If you don’t like the weather, stick around because tomorrow it will change.” Ba dum bump! Thank you, folks. I’m here all week.
  5. Don’t get distracted while you are cleaning and start rearranging furniture. Why is it that when I’m cleaning it suddenly becomes a good idea to start moving furniture, pictures, lamps and accessories around? I don’t know! It just does. Maybe it’s the adult version of ADD.  One minute you’re dusting and polishing the next thing you know two hours have gone by, and you’re still working in the same room, but all the furniture is in the middle of the room and you’re thinking the couch might look really good along that other wall. Not that this has ever happened to me or anything.

Someday maybe I’ll listen to my own advice.

1 Comment

Filed under 5 Things Friday, Around the House, Uncategorized

One response to “5 For Friday – Spring Cleaning

  1. Amber

    every point sounds like my cleaning routine!

Leave a Reply

